What could you go without?

Hurrah for Shrove Tuesday AKA Pancake day!!

Yes I know I can eat pancakes any day of the year but they taste so much better on Shrove Tuesday. I’ve just devoured some nice hot pancakes covered (I mean smothered) in golden syrup…..yummy. When we were kids it was amazing how much we looked forward to pancake day, the choice of toppings in our house was sugar with orange or lemon juice. Nice and simple, it is only quite recently that I have added golden syrup to that menu, which perhaps explains why I feel the need to make up for it now!

With Shrove Tuesday formally being the start of Lent, I am going to give some consideration to what I could give up for the next 40 days. Okay I admit I am not the most religious person in the world, however in the past I have seemed able to commit to the cause. Previously I have given up crisps, cakes and chocolate, sometime I have reversed it and made more of an effort to eat more fruit and veg. This year I am thinking maybe I should go along the lines of going without something other than food. I am however reluctant to give these up for Lent when actually I just want to not do them in life full stop, so maybe that is what I should give up for Lent, my negative outlook…..hmmm, I somehow think that is easier said than done and can you imagine me at Easter…letting rip and having the biggest rant and self pity moan in the world.

I might just say F**k It to Lent…….maybe I am learning from book after all đŸ˜‰

If you give something up guys I really hope you remain committed to the cause!

Leave a Reply

