Back to Reality

What an odd saying, it is said by millions and usually I hear it after someone has had a holiday from work and often home too, that is the circumstance behind me saying it today. First day back at work after Christmas and then a New Years holiday in Malta and I’m thinking ‘urgh back to reality’

Why am I thinking urgh? Well because home is England, England is cold and grim at the minute, work is a mixture of good and bad points but I can’t be bothered to think about the good ones, I’m tired and grumpy because I didn’t want to come home. I am soon turning 30 and am not naturally delighted by this and I get a pang of envy by some of those under 25 years old. I left behind someone in Malta who I do not know when I will see again but missed him the second I left him.

Now the thing that I find odd about this saying is that if back to reality is a bad thing then surely we are not living our life right? It is our life, we can do what we want with it where our control can be exercised. I mean it is not like I am dying of some awful condition which a holiday gave me a respite from the daily struggle or that my house has been affected while I’ve been away by the recent storms and is falling down.

Surely if the thought of back to reality means we are not living our life right we can change it? We can but will we? Will I?

Ok yes I can look forward to my party, make sure all the important people are invited, whether they can make it or not they need to know they are wanted there.

I can change my job and try and find something that would be enjoyable to me 100% of the time (I know, not realistic right?)

I could leave England and go to a sunnier climate.

I have spent a lot of my time since getting on the plane home thinking how much I could change my life if I really wanted to, all the barriers I put in place can easily be removed if I wanted something enough. So how can you tell you if you really want something or if you just think you do? Is it in the making it happen? I very much believe in not wishing for things you can achieve for yourself, which when you remove health and lottery wins, it leaves very little from the list we cannot get for ourself, oh and relationships, you cannot make someone want to be with you who doesn’t, yet if you can be with the person you wish you could be, then why does everything else seem less important and suddenly more bearable and not such a bad reality in the first place?

“When the dreams break into a million tiny pieces. The dream dies. Which leaves you with a choice: you can settle for reality, or you can go off, like a fool, and dream another dream.”

 

 

dan

2 thoughts on “Back to Reality

Leave a Reply

