Shameless plug – my book so far

Shameless plug – my book so far < click here to read!

I am now 8 chapters in on my book and it is starting to have some substance. I am happy with it’s progress so far. This was initially my NaNoWriMo effort, so a lot of this was written previously before Christmas however I am editing as I go and making it read worthy.

I would welcome anyone to give it a read and let me know what they think, I am open to suggestions and constructive criticism as I go so I can apply changes to upcoming chapters.

Enjoy….hopefully πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Shameless plug – my book so far

  1. Rachel! I love your story! I read the first chapter. The concept is so great and I can’t wait to see where you take it. The only constructive criticism I can offer is to watch run on sentences, and to cut out unnecessary words when possible (for example, you use “just” often). I know how you write because I am familiar with your blog and I think you write what you are thinking. That’s a great thing to be able to put your thoughts into words but as you go back and edit, think about “refining” your thoughts, if that makes sense. You have such a way with words that you can cut out and still get your message across. Every sentence should count! I hope this helps. I’m so proud of you and totally jealous that you are sharing and getting feedback. It’s very brave of you! I can’t wait to read more! πŸ™‚

    • thanks Jess!
      Someone else mentioned the sentences early on so I am hoping they are improvements after the first chapter, which I know I should go back and edit.
      It’s great that you mentioned ‘very’ too because I read something only this week about how lazy it is to use very and wherever it is used means there is a more descriptive word available.
      Thanks for taking the time to read it and offering some great feedback and also your lovely encouragement πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

